Episode IV: A New Favorite Movie Lines List


Here’s the fourth installment, once again in no particular order. I hope you guys are enjoying this as much as I am. I actually decided to stop looking for the film clips as that took foooorever, so I only am doing quotes from now on. Some have video clips that I found, but most are without. Hope you love!

film-strip-

301)Gimli: [failing to see over the wall] What’s happening out there?
Legolas: Shall I describe it to you?
Gimli: [turns] Hmm?
Legolas: Or would you like me to find you a box? –The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

302)”Mary Bennet: It’s been my experience, that an event looked forward to with much impatient desire, does not always brings its promised satisfaction.”–Pride and Prejudice (1980)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

303)”Verbena ‘Ever’s Housekeeper: I’m not saying a word. Not one single word.”–The Parent Trap (1961)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

304)”Coach Yoast: I think this is a very good time for prayer and reflection…
Bertier: Coach, I’m hurt. I’m not dead.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

305)”Elrond: He is not coming back. Why do you linger here when there is no hope?
Arwen: There is still hope.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

306)”Burt: See, I told you Miss Mo was full of crap.
Salvatore: Not Miss Mo. Massimo. Massimo.”–The Wedding Planner (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

307)”Aragorn: This day does not belong to one man but to all. Let us together rebuild this world that we may share in the days of peace.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

308)”Charlie Anderson: It’s no easy job, Sam, to take care of a woman.
Lt. Sam: No, sir.
Charlie Anderson: They expect things they never ask for. And when they don’t get them, they ask you why. Sometimes they don’t ask… and just go ahead and punish you for not doing something you didn’t know you were supposed to do in the first place.”–Shenandoah (1965)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

309)”George Banks: My dear, never confuse efficiency with a liver complaint.”–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

310)”Abraham Lincoln: I could write shorter sermons but when I get started I’m too lazy to stop.”–Lincoln (2012)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

311)”Elizabeth Bennet: We all love to instruct, though we teach only what is not worth knowing.”–Pride and Prejudice (1980)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

312)”Gimli: Where do you think you’re going?
Aragorn: Not this time, Gimli. This time you must stay.
[Legolas walks up to them, leading his horse]
Legolas: Have you learned nothing of the stubbornness of Dwarves?
Gimli: You may as well accept it. We’re going with you, laddy.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

313)”Coach Boone: This is where they fought the battle of Gettysburg. Fifty thousand men died right here on this field, fighting the same fight that we are still fighting among ourselves today. This green field right here, painted red, bubblin’ with the blood of young boys. Smoke and hot lead pouring right through their bodies. Listen to their souls, men. I killed my brother with malice in my heart. Hatred destroyed my family. You listen, and you take a lesson from the dead. If we don’t come together right now on this hallowed ground, we too will be destroyed, just like they were. I don’t care if you like each other of not, but you will respect each other. And maybe… I don’t know, maybe we’ll learn to play this game like men.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

314)”Lt. Sam: I’d be eternally grateful if you’d permit me to call upon you this evening.
Jennie Anderson: Eternally is a long time, Sam.
Lt. Sam: Not when one carries a memory of you, Miss Jennie.”–Shenandoah (1965)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

315)”Legolas: Final count, forty-two.
Gimli: Forty-two? Oh, that’s not bad for a pointy-eared elvish princeling. Hmph! I myself am sitting pretty on forty-THREE.
Legolas: [takes out an arrow, and shoots the Uruk Gimli is sitting on in the stomach] Forty-three.
Gimli: He was already dead!
Legolas: He was twitching.
Gimli: He was *twitching* because he’s got my axe EMBEDDED IN HIS NERVOUS SYSTEM!”–The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

316)”Sheryl Yoast: Y’all are acting like a bunch of sissies! Quit it!”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

317)”Mary Poppins: [singing] Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down, the medicine go down, the medicine go down. Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down, in the most delightful way.”–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

318)”Gandalf: Hold them back! Do not give in to fear! Stand to your posts! FIGHT!”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

319)”Edwin Stanton: [seeing Lincoln begin to address the room as news comes in from Wilmington] You’re going to tell one of your stories! I can’t stand to hear another one of your stories!”–Lincoln (2012)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

320)”Legolas: They’re taking the hobbits to Isengard.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

321)”Michael Corleone: You WON’T TAKE MY CHILDREN!”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

322)”Abraham Lincoln: [on General Grant] My trust in him is marrow deep. “–Lincoln (2012)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

323)”Mary Poppins: That’s a piecrust promise. Easily made, easily broken.”–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

324)”Michael Corleone: I trust these men with my life, Senator. To ask them to leave would be an insult.”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

325)”Sam: Come on, Mr. Frodo. I can’t carry it for you… but I can carry you!”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

326)”Big Ju: There’s too much male bonding in here.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

327)”Michael Corleone: I don’t feel I have to wipe everybody out, Tom. Just my enemies.”–The Godfather:Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

328)”Bill: Mulberry Street… and Worth… Cross and Orange… and Little Water. Each of the Five Points is a finger. When I close my hand it becomes a fist. And, if I wish, I can turn it against you.”–Gangs of New York (2002)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

329)”Coach Boone: I’m not gonna talk to you tonight about winnin’ and losin’. You’re already winners ’cause you didn’t kill each other up at camp.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

340)”Aragorn: Long have you hunted me, long have I eluded you. No more. Behold! The Sword of Elendil!”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

341)”Abraham Lincoln: Euclid’s first common notion is this: Things which are equal to the same things are equal to each other. That’s a rule of mathematical reasoning and its true because it works – has done and always will do. In his book Euclid says this is self evident. You see there it is even in that 2000 year old book of mechanical law it is the self evident truth that things which are equal to the same things are equal to each other.”–Lincoln (2012)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

342)”Massimo: Love cant always be perfect. Love is just love.”–The Wedding Planner (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

344)”Kay: I suppose I always knew you were too smart to let any of them ever beat you.”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

345)”Aragorn: I do not fear death.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

346)”Bill: A *real* native is someone who is willing to die fighting for his country. There’s nothing more to it.”–Gangs of New York (2002)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

347)”Kaffee: Is the colonel’s underwear a matter of national security?”–A Few Good Men (1992)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

348)”Abraham Lincoln: It was right after the revolution, right after peace had been concluded. And Ethan Allen went to London to help our new country conduct its business with the king. The English sneered at how rough we are and rude and simple-minded and on like that, everywhere he went. Til one day he was invited to the townhouse of a great English lord. Dinner was served, beverages imbibed, time passed as happens and Mr. Allen found he needed the privy. He was grateful to be directed to this. Relieved, you might say. Mr. Allen discovered on entering the water closet that the only decoration therein was a portrait of George Washington. Ethan Allen done what he came to do and returned to the drawing room. His host and the others were disappointed when he didn’t mention Washington’s portrait. And finally his lordship couldn’t resist and asked Mr. Allen had he noticed it. The picture of Washington. He had. Well what did he think of its placement? Did it seem appropriately located to Mr. Allen? And Mr. Allen said it did. The host was astounded. “Appropriate? George Washington’s likeness in a water closet?” “Yes,” said Mr. Allen, “where it will do good service. The world knows nothing will make an Englishman s*** quicker than the sight of George Washington.” I love that story.”–Lincoln (2012)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

349)”Bert: Speakin’ o’ names, I know a man with a wooden leg named Smith.
Uncle Albert: What’s the name of his other leg?”–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

350)”Aragorn: Hold your ground, hold your ground! Sons of Gondor, of Rohan, my brothers! I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of woes and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day! This day we fight! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you *stand, Men of the West!* “–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

351)”Older Sheryl: People say that it can’t work, black and white; well here we make it work, everyday. We have our disagreements, of course, but before we reach for hate, always, always, we remember the Titans.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

352)”Leonardo da Vinci: You cannot leave everything to Fate, boy. She’s got a lot to do. Sometimes you must give her a hand.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

353)”Kaffee: Excuse me. I didn’t dismiss you.
Col. Jessep: I beg your pardon?
Kaffee: I’m not through with my examination. Sit down.”–A Few Good Men (1992)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

354)”Abby Allshard: ‘Goodbye’ is a word we don’t use in the cavalry. To our next posting…”–She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

355)”Elrond: Put aside the Ranger. Become who you were born to be.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

356)”Mary Poppins: Supercallifragilisticexpialidocious!–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

357)”Michael Corleone: I know it was you, Fredo. You broke my heart. You broke my heart!”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

358)”Massimo: Mary, I know I never done the right thing, say the right thing. I know I act like a fool. I know say we’d be buddy-buddy friends, but that would not be true to my heart so I’ll ask this one question, and if you answer “no” I’ll leave you alone once and for all. Be my wife, Mary Fiore. If you answer yes I’ll take care of you, be true to you, and like this house I built for your dolls, I’ll make sure you have a strong roof over your head. If you answer yes than no one will love you as much as I love you. If you answer yes than you will make me the happiest man on earth. “–The Wedding Planner (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

359)”Bertier: See man, that’s the worst attitude I ever heard.
Big Ju: Attitude reflects leadership, captain.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

360)”Elwood: We’re on a mission from God.”–The Blues Brothers (1980)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

361)”Danielle: Forgive me, Your Highness, I did not see you.
Henry: Your aim would suggest otherwise.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

362)”Sheryl Yoast: Coach Boone, you did a good job up here. You ran a tough camp from what I can see.
Coach Boone: Well I’m very happy to have the approval of a 5 year old.
Sheryl Yoast: I’m 9 and a half, thank you very much. “–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

363)”Michael Corleone: Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer.”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

364)”Col. Jessep:  You put people’s lives in danger. Sweet dreams, son.
Kaffee: Don’t call me son. I’m a lawyer, and an officer in the United States Navy, and you’re under arrest you son of a b****.”–A Few Good Men (1992)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

365)”Witch King: [taking Eowyn by the throat] You fool. No man can kill me. Die now.
Eowyn: I am no man.
[she thrusts her sword into the Witch King’s helm and twists; he shrieks and implodes]”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

366)”Henry: Mother, Father, I want to build a University, with the largest library on the continent, where anyone can study, no matter their station!
King Francis: All right… Who are you… and what have you done with my son?”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

367)”Hugh Forbes: Then, a toast: May their days be long and full of happiness; may their children be many and full of health; and may they live in peace… and freedom.”–The Quiet Man (1952)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

368)”Henry: I want to invite the gypsies to the ball!”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

369)”[Julius visits Gerry in the hospital]
Nurse: Only kin’s allowed in here.
Bertier: Alice, are you blind? Don’t you see the family resemblance? That’s my brother.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

370)”Gimli: Never thought I’d die fighting side by side with an Elf.
Legolas: What about side by side with a friend?
Gimli: Aye. I could do that.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

371)”Thelonius: [Holds up two fingers] Pick number three my lord.”Shrek (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

372)”Chimney Sweeps:Votes for women! Votes for women, step in time, Votes for women, step in time
Votes for women!–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

373)”Leonardo da Vinci: Come, let’s see these paintings of yours.
Gustav: Now?
Leonardo da Vinci: When you’re as old as I am, son, now is all you’ve got.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

374)”Michael Corleone: If anything in this life is certain, if history has taught us anything, it is that you can kill anyone.”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

375)”Gimli: Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

376)”King Francis: I will simply deny you the crown and… live forever.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

377)”Dr. Alex Brulov: Good night and sweet dreams… which we’ll analyze at breakfast.”–Spellbound (1945)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

378)”Leonardo da Vinci: I know that a life without love is no life at all.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

379)”Petey Jones: Hey, hey, Lastik man what happened to you?
Louie Lastik: [holding back, in fake pain] Man I just gave your momma a piggy-back ride and she weighs twice as much as I do!
Petey Jones: That ain’t funny!”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

380)”Danielle: I would rather die a thousand deaths than see my mother’s dress on that spoiled, selfish cow!”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

381)”Susan’s roommate at camp Inch: The nerve of her! Coming here with your face!
Susan’s other roommate: What are you gonna do about it?
Susan Evers: Do? What in heaven’s sake can I do, silly?
Susan’s other roommate: I’d bite off her nose. Then she wouldn’t look like you.”–The Parent Trap (1961)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

382)”Henry: You told me it was a matter of life or death.
Leonardo da Vinci: [unrolling the Mona Lisa] A woman always is, sire.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

383)”Steve: Why did Steve go to the movies with you? Well, first of all, Steve likes the movies. Steve had the night off. Steve said, ‘Hey, a movie sounds good,’ plus he got an invitation.
Mary: Why is Steve referring to himself in the third person?
Steve: What are you talking about?”–The Wedding Planner (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

384)”Mr. Banks: [singing] Oh, oh, oh, let’s go fly a kite, up to the highest height! Let’s go fly a kite, and send it soaring!”–Mary Poppins (1964)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

385)”Sam: What are you up to? Sneaking off, are we?
Gollum: Sneaking? Sneaking? Fat Hobbit is always so polite. Smeagol shows them secret ways that nobody else could find, and they say “sneak!” Sneak? Very nice friend. Oh, yes, my precious. Very nice, very nice.
Sam: All right, all right! You just startled me is all. What were you doing?
Gollum: Sneaking.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

386)”Coach Boone: This is no democracy. It is a dictatorship. I am the law.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

387)”Lord Farquaad: All right, then! Who’s hiding them?
Gingerbread Man: Okay, I’ll tell you… Do you know… the Muffin Man?
Lord Farquaad: The Muffin Man?
Gingerbread Man: The Muffin Man.
Lord Farquaad: Yes, I know the Muffin Man. W-who lives down on Drury Lane?
Gingerbread Man: Well, she’s married to the Muffin Man…
Lord Farquaad: The Muffin Man?
Gingerbread Man: THE MUFFIN MAN!
Lord Farquaad: She’s married to the Muffin Man…”–Shrek (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

388)”Kaffee: Oh, hah, I’m sorry, I keep forgetting. You were sick the day they taught law at law school.”–A Few Good Men (1992)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

389)”Team: [Echoed] Everywhere we go -Everywhere we go-, people wanna know -people wanna know-, who we are -who we are-, so we tell them -so we tell them- We Are The Titans! -We Are The Titans!- The Mighty Mighty Titans! -The Mighty Mighty Titans!…”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

390)”King of the Dead: The dead do not suffer the living to pass.
Aragorn: You will suffer me.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

391)”Michael Corleone: I saw a strange thing today. Some rebels were being arrested. One of them pulled the pin on a grenade. He took himself and the captain of the command with him. Now, soldiers are paid to fight; the rebels aren’t.
Hyman Roth: What does that tell you?
Michael Corleone: They could win.”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

392)”Baroness Rodmilla De Ghent: Go… catch a chicken.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

393)”Kaffee: I want the truth!
Col. Jessep: You can’t handle the truth!–A Few Good Men (1992)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

394)”Baroness Rodmilla De Ghent: Darling, nothing is final ’til you’re dead, and even then, I’m sure God negotiates.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

395)”Arwen: From the ashes, a fire shall be woken. A light from the shadow shall spring. Renewed shall be blade that was broken. The crownless again shall be king.”–The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

396)”Danielle: It is not fair, sire. You have found my weakness, but I have yet to learn yours.
Henry: But I should think it was quite obvious.”–Ever After (1998)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

397)”Massimo: [to Steve] Look planning a wedding isn’t for men. We stick together and do the manly bonding.”–The Wedding Planner (2001)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

398)”Hyman Roth: Good health is the most important thing. More than success, more than money, more than power.”–The Godfather: Part II (1974)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

399)”Coach Yoast: Yeah. I hope you boys have learned as much from me this year as I’ve learned from you. You’ve taught this city how to trust the soul of a man rather than the look of him.”–Remember the Titans (2000)

stock-vector-old-film-strip-background-36019405

400)”Henry Anderson: I don’t see any reason to fight for something I don’t believe is right.”–Shenandoah (1965)

film-strip-

 

For more of my favorite lines go to Episode III: Revenge of My Favorite Movie Lines

For more Lord of the Rings go to Lord of the Cats

For more on Pride and Prejudice go to Flu Season

For more of Shrek go to I Wouldn’t Change You Darling

For more on Gangs of New York  go to At the End of the Rainbow

For more on The Godfather go to the 25 Films of Christmas

Leave a Reply

