Part XI: A Movie Lines List’s Excellent Adventure (A My Favorite Movie Lines List)


80sMovie

Have you ever felt this way? Well I can’t make your life an ’80s film, but I can give you a post all about ’80s film!

Double double yay

Yep the My Favorite Movie Lines List is back, but this time it has some serious ’80s flavor!

film-strip-banner

1001)”Colonel Vogel: What does the diary tell you that it doesn’t tell us? [he tries to slap him again; Henry grabs his wrist, stopping him]
Professor Henry Jones: [through his teeth] It tells me, that goose-stepping morons like yourself should try *reading* books instead of *burning* them!”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

read

film-strip-banner

1002)”Conan: You’re not a guard!
Valeria: Neither are you!
Subotai: We’re thieves! Ha! Like yourself. Come to climb the tower.
Valeria: You don’t even have a rope! Ha! Two fools who laugh at death. Do you know what horrors lie beyond that wall?
Conan: No
Valeria: Then you go first.”–Conan the Barbarian (1982)

film-strip-banner

1003)”Clubber Lang: No, I don’t hate Balboa. I pity the fool…”–Rocky III (1982)

film-strip-banner

1004)”Anne Shirley: If I’d been the boy you sent for, I could have spared you in so many ways.
Matthew Cuthbert: I never wanted a boy. I only wanted you from the first day. Don’t ever change. I love my little girl. I’m so proud of my little girl.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

film-strip-banner

1005)”Lloyd Dobler: She’s gone. She gave me a pen. I gave her my heart, she gave me a pen.”–Say Anything (1989)

SayanythingHeartPenBrokenheart

film-strip-banner

1006)”Jehnna: I suppose nothing hurts you.
Conan: Only pain.”–Conan the Destroyer (1984)

film-strip-banner

1007)”Chris: What should I do?
Sarah: Get in the car and run him over.”–Adventures in Babysitting (1987)

film-strip-banner

1008)”[after commandeering a plane]
Professor Henry Jones: I didn’t know you could fly a plane.
Indiana Jones: Fly, yes. Land, no.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1009)”Interviewer: What’s your prediction for the fight?
Clubber Lang: My prediction?
Interviewer: Yes, your prediction.
Clubber Lang:[Clubber looks into camera] Pain!”–Rocky III (1982)

film-strip-banner

1010)”Ted: Please welcome, the very excellent barbarian…
Ted, Bill: …MR. GENGHIS KHAN!
[All the students applaud wildly for Khan]
Ted: This is a dude who, 700 years ago, totally ravaged China, and who, we were told, 2 hours ago, totally ravaged Oshman’s Sporting Goods.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1011)”Marilla Cuthbert: Oh, this is a fine kettle of fish.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

film-strip-banner

1012)”Professor Henry Jones: [accidentally shoots their own plane with the machine gun]
Indiana Jones: Dad, are we hit?
Professor Henry Jones: More or less. Son, I’m sorry. They got us.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1013)”Malak: A fine magician you are! Go back to juggling apples.”–Conan the Destroyer (1984)

film-strip-banner

1014)”Gilbert Blythe: It’ll be three years before I finish medical school. Even then there won’t be any diamond sunbursts or marble halls.
Anne Shirley: I don’t want diamond sunbursts, or marble halls. I just want you.”–Anne of Avonlea (1987)

film-strip-banner

1015)”Rocky Balboa: Nothing is real if you don’t believe in who you are!”–Rocky III (1982)

believe

film-strip-banner

1016)”Diane Court: Nobody thinks it will work, do they?
Lloyd Dobler: No. You just described every great success story.”–Say Anything (1989)

Say Anythingfilm-strip-banner

1017)”Ted: Strange things are afoot at the Circle-K.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

strange things are afoot at the circle kfilm-strip-banner

1018)”Anne Shirley: I don’t want any of it to change. I wish I could just hold on to those days forever. I have a feeling things will never be the same again, will they?
Gilbert Blythe: I won’t change, that’s the least I can promise you.”–Anne of Avonlea (1987)

film-strip-banner

1019)”Sarah: [Trying to convince Chris not to leave her alone with Brad] What if the house explodes?
Chris: The house is not going to explode!
Sarah: You leave him here alone, and it will!”–Adventures in Babysitting (1987)

film-strip-banner

1020)”Jehnna: How do you attract a man? What I mean is, suppose you set your heart on somebody. What would you do to get him?
Zula: Grab him! And take him!”–Conan the Destroyer (1984)

film-strip-banner

1021)”Apollo Creed: Can he swim?
Paulie: With a name like “Rock”!”–Rocky III (1982)

film-strip-banner

1022)”[Bill and Ted meet themselves]
Ted: OK wait. If you guys are really us, what number are we thinking of?
Bill, Ted: 69, dudes.
Bill, Ted: Whoa.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1023)”[Indiana Jones and Professor Jones Sr. are trapped between a room on fire and a room full of Nazis]
Professor Henry Jones: Our situation has not improved.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1024)”Lloyd Dobler: I am looking for a dare to be great situation.”–Say Anything (1989)

film-strip-banner

1025)”Miss Stacy: True friends are always together in spirit.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

HarryPotterThoseWhoreallyLoveus

film-strip-banner

1025)”Rocky Balboa: Friends don’t owe! They do because the wanna do.”–Rocky III (1982)

film-strip-banner

1026)”Conan: Enough talk!”–Conan the Destroyer (1984)

Conan the barbarian

film-strip-banner

1027)”Bill: Okay, Ted, George Washington. One: the father of our country.
Ted: Two: born on President’s Day.
Bill: Three: the dollar-bill guy.
Ted: Bill, you ever made a mushroom out of his head? It’s like, just like…
Bill: Ted. Alaska.
Ted: Okay. Um… Had wooden teeth, chased Moby Dick.
Bill: That’s Captain Ahab, dude.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1028)”Anne Shirley: This is the most tragical thing that has ever happened to me.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

film-strip-banner

1029)”Sarah: [About Dawson] It’s Thor!
Brad: No, it’s not Sarah.
Sarah:[to Dawson] Don’t listen to him, he called you a homo.”
Dawson[Angrily grabs Brad by shirt] You spreading lies about me kid?
Brad[Nervously] Who, me? Never!”–Adventures in Babysitting (1987)

film-strip-banner

1030)”Short Round: I keep telling you, you listen to me more, you live longer!”–Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984)

film-strip-banner

1031)”Mickey: You’re wearing your anatomy out for charity. Nobody else does this much for charity.
Rocky Balboa: Bob Hope would.
Mickey: [pause, nods] That’s true.”–Rocky III (1982)

film-strip-banner

1032)”Conan’s Father: You must learn its riddle, Conan. You must learn its discipline. For no one – no one in this world can you trust. Not men, not women, not beasts. [Points to sword] This you can trust.”–Conan the Barbarian (1982)

film-strip-banner

1033)”Anne Shirley: Well, I wouldn’t marry anyone who was really wicked, but I think I’d like it if he could be wicked and wouldn’t.”–Anne of Avonlea (1987)

film-strip-banner

1034)”Diane Court: I just can’t have any social life right now.
Lloyd Dobler: Don’t worry about it. We’re just having coffee. We’ll be anti-social.
Diane Court: Be friends?
Lloyd Dobler: Yeah. With potential.”–Say Anything (1989)

film-strip-banner

1035)”[Captain Logan is questioning Abraham Lincoln]
Capt. Logan: All right, what’s your name?
Abraham Lincoln: Abraham Lincoln. That’s L-I-N-C-O-L-N.
Capt. Logan: I know how to spell Lincoln. What’s your birthday, Mr. Lincoln?
Abraham Lincoln: February 12… 1809.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1036)”Indiana Jones: [shouts] I told you…[grabs a gun and shoots all soldiers dead] DON’T call me Junior!”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1037)”Nicoli Koloff: Whatever he hits, he destroys.”–Rocky IV (1985)

film-strip-banner

1038)”Toht: You Americans, you’re all the same. Always overdressing for the wrong occasions.”–Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

OverdressOveredu

film-strip-banner

1039)”King Osric: There comes a time, thief, when the jewels cease to sparkle, when the gold loses its luster, when the throne room becomes a prison, and all that is left is a father’s love for his child.”–Conan the Barbarian (1982)

film-strip-banner

1040)”Josie Pye: Hey, Anne, how do you spell freckle?
Diana Barry: Hey, Josie, how do you spell ugly?”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

film-strip-banner

1041)”Lloyd Dobler: I got a question. If you guys know so much about women, how come you’re here at like the Gas ‘n’ Sip on a Saturday night completely alone drinking beers with no women anywhere?
Joe: By choice, man.”–Say Anything (1989)

film-strip-banner

1042)”Daryl: Did you steal all of these cars?
Joe Gipp: Yeah. It gets me some good money.
Daryl: Isn’t it kind of dangerous?
Joe Gipp: Hey, I like danger, all right?
Chris: You should try babysitting.”–Adventures in Babysitting (1987)

film-strip-banner

1043)”Jessica Rabbit: Oh, Roger. You were magnificent.
Roger Rabbit: Was I really?
Jessica Rabbit: Better than Goofy.”–Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

film-strip-banner

1044)”Mr. Ryan: It seems to me the only thing you’ve learned is that Caesar is a ‘salad dressing dude.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1045)”Caroline: [Very drunk]Who’s he?
Jake: That’s me.
Caroline: Who are you?
Jake: I’m him.
Caroline: Oh, okay.–Sixteen Candles (1984)

film-strip-banner

1046)”Indiana Jones: Sallah, I said *no* camels. That’s *five* camels. Can’t you count?”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1047)”Bill: Okay, wait, if we were one of Europe’s greatest leaders, and we were stranded in San Dimas for one day, where would we go?
Bill, Ted: [pause] Waterloo!”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1048)”Lloyd Dobler: ‘Cause I’m a guy. I have pride.
Corey Flood: You’re not a guy.
Lloyd Dobler: I am.
Corey Flood: No. The world is full of guys. Be a man. Don’t be a guy.”–Say Anything (1989)

RealMan

film-strip-banner

1049)”David Seville: Alvin, we’ve been over this a million times!
Alvin Seville: Please, Dave! I need a little culture in my life! The Eiffel Tower, the Sixteen Chapel, the Louvre in Rome!
Simon Seville: The Louvre is in Paris, Alvin.
Alvin Seville: You see? I don’t even know where the Louvre is!”–The Chipmunk Adventure (1987)

film-strip-banner

1050)”Professor Henry Jones: Those people are trying to kill us!
Indiana Jones: [shouts] I know, Dad!
Professor Henry Jones: This is a new experience for me.
Indiana Jones: It happens to me all the time.–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1051)”Jim Baker: That’s why they call them crushes. If they were easy, they’d call ’em something else.”–Sixteen Candles (1984)

Saint Elmo's Fire Love sucks

film-strip-banner

1052)”Dan Lynch: Where is your brain?”–Adventures in Babysitting (1987)

film-strip-banner

1053)”Zeus: Fortune is ally to the brave.”–Clash of the Titans (1981)

film-strip-banner

1054)”Bill: Be excellent to each other.
Ted: Party on, dudes!”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1055)”Simon Seville: I can’t believe you decieved Miss Miller for a package of Tutti Frutti, Theodore.
Theodore Seville: Two packages!”–The Chipmunk Adventure (1987)

film-strip-banner

1056)”Lloyd Dobler: What I really want to do with my life – what I want to do for a living – is I want to be with your daughter. I’m good at it.”–Say Anything (1989)

film-strip-banner

1057)”Long Duk Dong: What’s happenin’, hot stuff?”–Sixteen Candles (1984)

film-strip-banner

1058)”Zeus: Perseus and Andromeda will be happy together. Have fine sons… rule wisely… And to perpetuate the story of his courage, I command that from henceforth, he will be set among the stars and constellations. He, Perseus, the lovely Andromeda, the noble Pegasus, and even the vain Cassiopeia. Let the stars be named after then forever. As long as man shall walk the Earth and search the night sky in wonder, they will remember the courage of Perseus forever. Even if we, the gods, are abandoned or forgotten, the stars will never fade. Never. They will burn till the end of the time.”–Clash of the Titans (1981)

film-strip-banner

1059)”Socrates: [In Greek] Like sands of the hourglass, so are the days of our lives.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1060)”Anne Shirley: And I promise I’ll never do it again. That’s the one good thing about me. I never do the same wrong thing twice.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

film-strip-banner

1061)”Indiana Jones: I’m like a bad penny, I always turn up.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1062)”Brittany Miller: If you think I’m going to marry that pint-sized twerp, you’re nuts!
Arabian Prince: [laughing] Pint-sized twerp? I love that! [continues laughing, then pauses] What is a twerp?”–The Chipmunk Adventure (1987)

film-strip-banner

1063)”Corey Flood: [Lloyd’s letter to Diane] Dear Diane, I’ll always be there for you. All the love in my heart, Lloyd.”–Say Anything (1989)

film-strip-banner

1064)”Ammon: I was partial to tragedy in my youth. That was before experience taught me that life was tragical enough without my having to write about it.”–Clash of the Titans (1981)

film-strip-banner

1065)”Bill: [approaching Socrates] How’s it going? I’m Bill, this is Ted. We’re from the future.
Socrates: Socrates.
Ted: [whispering to Bill] Now what?
Bill: I dunno. Philosophize with him!
Ted: [clears his throat, to Socrates] “All we are is dust in the wind,” dude.
[Socrates gives them a blank stare]
Bill: [scoops up a pile of dust from the basin before them and lets it run out of his hand] Dust.
[he blows the remainder away]
Bill: Wind.
Ted: [points at Socrates] Dude.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1066)”Indiana: Snakes. Why’d it have to be snakes?”–Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

film-strip-banner

1067)”Roger Rabbit: A laugh can be a very powerful thing. Why, sometimes in life, it’s the only weapon we have.”–Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

film-strip-banner

1068)”Jake: I want a serious girlfriend. Somebody I can love, that’s gonna love me back. Is that psycho?”–Sixteen Candles (1984)

girfriend

film-strip-banner

1069)”Aunt Josephine: I like people who make me like them. Saves me so much trouble forcing myself to like them.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

film-strip-banner

1070)”Joe: [Lloyd has just explained his feelings for Diane] Dude, I don’t even feel that way about my car, man.”–Say Anything (1989)

film-strip-banner

1071)”Indiana Jones: Come on, dad. Help me get us out of here. We have to get to Marcus before the Nazis do.
Professor Henry Jones: But you said he had a two day head start. That he would blend in, disappear.
Indiana Jones: Are you kidding? I made all that up. You know Marcus. He once got lost in his own museum.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1072)”Calibos: Release the Kracken!”–Clash of the Titans (1981)

film-strip-banner

1073)”Eddie Valiant: You mean you could’ve taken your hand out of that cuff at any time?
Roger Rabbit: No, not at any time, only when it was funny.”–Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

film-strip-banner

1074)”Biff Tannen: Hey butthead!”–Back to the Future (1985)

film-strip-banner

1075)” Bill: [To Billy the Kid] Billy, you are dealing with the oddity of time travel with the greatest of ease.”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1076)”Vizzini: I’m Waiting”–The Princess Bride (1987)

film-strip-banner

1077)”Anne Shirley: Ruby Gillis says when she grows up, she wants to have a line of beaus on a string and make them crazy for her. I’d rather have one, in his rightful mind.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

boyfriendAnneofGreenGables

film-strip-banner

1078)”R.K. Maroon: How much do you know about show business, Mr. Valiant?
Eddie Valiant: Only that there is no business like it, no business I know.”–Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

film-strip-banner

1079)”Randy: Would you stop feeling sorry for yourself? It’s bad for your complexion.”–Sixteen Candles (1984)

film-strip-banner

1080)”[Finding a hidden passage in a Venetian library]
Indiana Jones: ‘X’ marks the spot.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1081)”Marty McFly: [Reading the newspaper from 2015] “Within two hours of his arrest, Martin McFly Jr. was tried, convicted and sentenced to fifteen years in the state penitentiary.”? Within two hours?
Doc: The justice system works swiftly in the future now that they’ve abolished all lawyers.”–Back to the Future Part II (1989)

film-strip-banner

1082)”Zeus: Find, and fulfill your destiny!”–Clash of the Titans (1981)

film-strip-banner

1083)”Inigo Montoya: But this is Buttercup’s true love – If you heal him, he will stop Humperdinck’s wedding.
Miracle Max: Wait. Wait. I make him better, Humperdinck suffers?
Inigo Montoya: Humiliations galore!
Miracle Max: That is a noble cause. Give me the sixty-five, I’m on the job.”–The Princess Bride (1987)

film-strip-banner

1084)”Eddie Valiant: Seriously, what do you see in that guy?
Jessica Rabbit: He makes me laugh.”–Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

Laughter

film-strip-banner

1085)”Belloq: How odd that it should end this way for us after so many stimulating encounters. I almost regret it. Where shall I find a new adversary so close to my own level?
Indiana: Try the local sewer.”–Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

film-strip-banner

1086)”Anne Shirley: Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

AnneofGreenGablesfilm-strip-banner

1087)”Billy the Kid: Here’s the deal. What I win, I keep. What you win, I keep.
Bill, Ted: Sounds good, Mr. The Kid!”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1088)”Young Biff: Why don’t you make like a tree and get out of here?
Old Biff: It’s *leave*, you idiot! “Make like a tree, and leave.” You sound like a d*** fool when you say it wrong.”–Back to the Future Part II (1989)

film-strip-banner

1089)”Indiana Jones: [dressed as the ticket-taker] Tickets please.
Colonel Vogel: [in German] What?
[Indiana punches him, picks him up and throws him out a window into a pile of luggage; the other passengers look at him, bewildered]
Indiana Jones: [pointing out the window at Vogel] No ticket.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1090)”Gilbert Blythe: Psst! Carrots! Carrots!”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

AnnofGreenGables

film-strip-banner

1091)”Jessica Rabbit: I’m not bad. I’m just drawn that way.”–Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

film-strip-banner

1092)”Doc: Marty! What in the name of Sir Isaac H. Newton happened here?”–Back to the Future Part II (1989)

film-strip-banner

93)”[Henry, struggling with a Nazi for a gun, uses his fountain pen to blind the Nazi]
Marcus Brody: Henry, the pen.
Professor Henry Jones: What?
Marcus Brody: Well don’t you see? The pen is mightier than the sword.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1094)”Bill: [whispers in ted’s ear] Lyrics, dude, recite them some lyrics.
Ted: Oh, you beautiful babes from England, for whom we have traveled through time… will you go to the prom with us in San Dimas? We will have a most triumphant time!
[princesses giggle]
Bill: Way to go, dude!”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1095)”Anne Shirley: I defy anyone who would try and make me change.”–Anne of Avonlea (1987)

film-strip-banner

1096)”Marty McFly: Hey, Doc! Where you goin’ now? Back to the future?
Doc: Nope. Already been there.”–Back to the Future Part III (1990)

film-strip-banner

1097)”Professor Henry Jones: I misjudged you, Walter. I knew you would sell your mother for an Etruscan vase. But I didn’t know you would sell out your country and your soul… to the slime of humanity.”–Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

film-strip-banner

1098)”Bill: Ted, while I agree that, in time, our band will be most triumphant. The truth is, Wyld Stallyns will never be a super band until we have Eddie Van Halen on guitar.
Ted: Yes, Bill. But, I do not believe we will get Eddie Van Halen until we have a triumphant video.
Bill: Ted, it’s pointless to have a triumphant video before we even have decent instruments.
Ted: Well, how can we have decent instruments when we don’t really even know how to play?
Bill: That is why we NEED Eddie Van Halen!
Ted: And THAT is why we need a triumphant video.
Bill, Ted: EXCELLENT!”–Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

film-strip-banner

1099)”Young Doc: No! It can’t be; I just sent you back to the future!
Marty McFly: No, I know; you *did* send me back to the future. But I’m back – I’m back *from* the future.
Young Doc: Great Scott!–Back to the Future Part II (1989)

film-strip-banner

100)”Diana Barry: Gilbert told Charlie Sloan that you were the smartest girl in school, right in front of Josie.
Anne Shirley: He did?
Diana Barry: He told Charlie being smart was better than being good looking.”–Anne of Green Gables (1985)

IntelligenceisBeatiful

film-strip-banner

For more of My Favorite Movie Lines List, go to The Movie List That Would Not Die

For more Adventures in Babysitting, go to Part IX: Adventures in Movie Lines

For more of Anne of Green Gables, go to Fashionably Postworthy

For more of Back to the Future, go to Part VIII: The Little Movie Line List

For more on Clash of the Titans, go to Snakes on a Post

For more on Indiana Jones, go to And Away We Go

For more on Raiders of the Lost Ark, go to Do You Know Where Alex Is?

For more on Rocky III, go to Eye of the Tiger

For more on Say Anything, go to Boom Box of Love

For more on The Princess Bride, go to Inconceivable!

For more of my favorite quotes, go to Remember, Remember the 5th of November

Leave a Reply

