I Want You to Want Me


cheap-trick-1

I Want You to Want Me by Cheap Trick

I LOVE Cheap Trick. I don’t know when I first got into the band but it only took one song and I was hooked. Out of all their songs I love this one the most. It is adorable and perfect, just like Kate says in John Tucker Must Die.

79920e9e1ee83cde0380c00da1242575

This song was written by Rick Nielsen and thought of being a fusion of ’70s ABBA pop and heavy metal. They never thought it would become the hit it did. In fact it turned out to be one of their biggest selling singles.

What?!

What?!

My favorite version is the live one as it has the two guitar solos. You know me and the guitar:

BacktothefutureMartyMcflyrocknrollguitarsolo

The song was redone by Letters to Cleo, but I don’t like their version as much. To me this lyric:

I’ll shine up my old brown shoes.
I’ll put on a brand new shirt
I’ll get home early from work
If you say that you love me.

To me it sounds more like something a guy would do than a woman. I know people might think this is sexist, but I just think that a girl would put in more work into her appearance; you know do her hair, put together a more complete outfit, makeup, etc.

So here we go with the original, and in my opinion, the best version.

Lyrics2ndvoice&Guitar

Not only does the music draw you in with its toe tapping, but I just adore the desire and longing in his voice and the words. I think that is why this song was such a hit, you can connect to it as everyone has felt that way. You know what it is like to want someone to want you too. It is just a fantastic song that I can’t get enough of.

Iloveit love

musicnotes banner

I want you to want me.
I need you to need me.
I’d love you to love me.
I’m beggin’ you to beg me.
I want you to want me.
I need you to need me.
I’d love you to love me.
I’ll shine up my old brown shoes.
I’ll put on a brand new shirt
I’ll get home early from work
If you say that you love me.
Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin, cryin’).
Oh, Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin, cryin’)
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
You know you feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).
I want you to want me.
I need you to need me.
I’d love you to love me.
I’m beggin’ you to beg me.
I’ll shine up my old brown shoes.
I’ll put on a brand new shirt
I’ll get home early from work
If you say that you love me.
Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin, cryin’).
Oh, Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin, cryin’)
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
You know you feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
You know you feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
You know you feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).
I want you to want me.
I need you to need me.
I’d love you to love me.
I’m beggin’ you to beg me.
musicnotes banner
For more of my favorite songs, go to Don’t Fear the Reaper
For more Heavy Metal, go to Hail to the King
For more ’70s songs, go to T.N.T.
Leave a Reply

