I Know You Can Do This: Working Girl (1988)

Most Romantic Moment #6

working_girl_american_poster

Working Girl (1988)

I had never seen this movie before, but I knew that Brittany Murphy’s character in Little Black Book was obsessed with it.

I had also heard it had all these awards and people loved it. So when my friend and I spotted it on Netflix she and I watched it.

gusPsychpopcorn

I thought it was okay, not spectacular but not horrible; and was surprised at the amount of awards it had won. But it did have a moment I thought was pretty romantic.

hearts banner

Tess (Melanie Griffith) is a secretary who dreams of becoming more, but finds that her Staten Island backgrounds stalls her from any promotion.

I don't like it 11

She also has a boyfriend that will never move things forward and is cheating on her.

Jerk

After being sexually harassed by her bosses and ending her employment by getting revenge, she finds herself at the end of the line. Her last job for a female employer, and if she doesn’t make this stick she is out of New York.

I don't know what to do

Katherine Parker (Sigourney Weaver) is new to the company and takes Tess under her wing teaching her about proper presentation, the right way to speak, etc. Tess sees Katherine as her mentor and shares a great idea with her.

I-got-this-reaction-gif

Katherine breaks her leg while skiing and is going to be out of the office for months. She sends Tess to do a few errands, and Tess finds out that Katherine stole her idea and was planning to pass it off as her own. This betrayal coupled with finding out about her boyfriend’s cheating on her, causes her to become so furious she decides that she is going to take over the deal herself.

Don't mess with me!

Don’t mess with me!

She cuts her hair, borrows Katherine’s home, clothes, etc. She then approaches Jack Trainer (Harrison Ford) herself to get the deal rolling. The Harrison Ford scenes are the best: especially when he changes his shirt. 🙂

Aw!

Aw!

The two start getting really close when things become super complicated!

Not good

Not good

Katherine comes home early, it turn out that her sometimes boyfriend is Jack, Tess’ cover is starting to crack, and Katherine tries to steal back the credit for the idea.

hearts banner

Most Romantic Moment: 

**Spoiler Warning**

So the most romantic moment for me comes at the very end of the film. Katherine tried to steal back the credit and Jack; with Tess coming in and proving the idea was hers, that she is intelligent, and pulling of this amazing deal for the company.

Yay!!!

Yay!!!

Tess is rehired for the company, (as Katherine fired when she tried to discredit her), and is extremely nervous for her first day back as she doesn’t know what to expect and is afraid of messing up again.

i'mscared

Jack prepares her lunch, hands it to her, and encourages her as she goes off.

workinggirllunch

How sweet is that?

Aw!

Aw!

Especially when you compare him to her previous boyfriend. He just leached off of her, never took her out, never encouraged her, and the only thing he ever gave her was lingerie (really a gift for himself).

What jerks

What jerks

Jack is the complete opposite as he supports her, comforts her, and calms her down; taking care of the tiny details so she could just focus on her duties.

Aw!

Aw!

Perfect Boyfriend

hearts banner

To start Romance is in the Air: Part V from the beginning, go to I Did It for You: Edward Scissorhands (1990)

For the previous post, go to I Only Care That You Succeed: How I Met Your Mullet, Raising Hope (2014)

hearts banner

For more Harrison Ford, go to You Don’t Have to Say the Words, I Already Know: Episode V, The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

For more ’80s films, go to I Will Face My Fears for You: Back to the Future (1985)

Leave a comment