Books, Tea, and the Trinity: Healthy Waldorf Salad

Back in 2020, some friends and I started a Tea Party/Bible Study/Book Club, now named Books, Tea, and the Trinity. We have met every Wednesday and worked our way through the Chronicles of Narnia, currently reading through the Lorien Legacies. When we started I resolved to share all the recipes we made for tea, something I am desperately trying to catch up on.

When we worked through A Horse and His Boy, this book didn’t have as many “food moments” as it’s predecessor The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe; so we just made whatever we wanted to eat.

Emma (1996)

As I wasn’t in charge of this book, there will be no discussion questions, just recipes. 

The first week we had Cederberg Tea Co. Classic Red and Red Chai Tea. We also had Apple Cinnamon Scones, Heirloom Tomato Tarts with Basil, and a Waldorf Salad.

Years before, a friend of mine made Waldorf Salad and I liked it but not the mayonnaise or the other extra sweets. I decided to make my own, healthier version.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Gala or Pink Lady Apple (they don’t brown as easily), chopped
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • 1 cup thinly sliced celery
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Your choice of dressing

Instructions

  1. Chop the lettuce, celery, walnuts, and apples.
  2. Toss the ingredients.
  3. Add salt & pepper to taste.
  4. Top with your choice of dressing (I prefer a vinaigrette.)

I and everyone else thought it was delicious. And I enjoyed it way more than the Mayo-marshmallow version.

For more from our Books, Tea, and the Trinity tea times, go to Apple Cinnamon Scones

For more salad recipes, go to Tomato Hummus Salad

For more recipes, go to How to Make Royal Milk Tea

For more tea posts, go to Spill the Tea: Caroline’s Coffee Roaster

Leave a comment